Skip to main content

2023 PSMLA Executive Council Committees

2023 PSMLA Executive Council Committees

As you see below, the Executive Council of the Pennsylvania State Modern Language Association has many committees.  We are always looking for more people to assist.  If you feel you are able to volunteer your services in any of the following areas, please contact us by sending an email to a committee chair or click below.

Get involved


Charge: To coordinate the nomination and selection process with the Conference Committees, Merit Awards, Cemanahuac Scholarship, Mead Fellowship, and Outstanding Senior Awards, purchase appropriate awards for the annual PSMLA Teacher of the Year Awards (K-12 and Higher Ed)

  • Chair:  Edith Guay
  • Consultant:  Natalie Puhala
  • Members:   Wilma Dunkle, Junko Yamamoto, Mary Wells, Olivia Grugan


Charge: To develop advocacy for the study of foreign languages in Pennsylvania, including being alert to current and pending legislation and informing PSMLA members about it; sharing information about foreign language advocacy through PSMLA publications; and organizing letter writing and testimony efforts when needed

  • Chair:  Cherie Garrett
  • Consultant: Mina Levenson
  • Members: Isabel Espino de Valdivia, Wilma Dunkle, Edith Guay, Jen Campbell, Sarah Thatcher


Charge: To make recommendations and create policy regarding the reimbursement of expenses and address general questions on expenditures; to oversee the general budgetary and financial procedures of the organization; to arrange for all audits and reviews of treasury and financial operations.

  • Co-chairs:   Megan Flinchbaugh, Wilma Dunkle
  • Consultant: John Grande
  • Members:  Isabel Espino de Valdivia, Natalie Puhala, Michael Bogdan, Junko Yamamoto


Charge: To develop strategies for increasing and retaining PSMLA membership from all possible constituents.  Includes: instituting a new lifetime membership—which will necessitate a by-laws change and change in dues structure for Institutional Members who renew for a second year, updating brochures and membership information on the PSMLA website and in the Forum.

  • Chair:  Debra Faszer-McMahon
  • Consultant: Natalie Puhala
  • Committee: Wilma Dunkle, Katy Geare, Sarah Thatcher, Jen Campbell

Nominations & Elections

Charge: To solicit recommendations for candidates; prepare a nominations slate for scheduled elections (including short bio, blurb, and photo of each candidate); make recommendations to the Executive Council members (who must approve the slate); send out ballots; and notify candidates of results, duties, and upcoming meetings

  • Chair: John Grande
  • Consultant:  Mina Levenson
  • Members:  Sister Mary Helen Kashuba, Edith Guay, Michael Bogdan, Wilma Dunkle, Mary Wells

Professional Development

Charge: To oversee PSMLA's efforts in the area of professional development and establish a Best Practices Network as it relates to the implementation of the World Language.

  • Chair:  Jen Campbell
  • Consultant: Megan Flinchbaugh
  • Members: Michael Bogdan, Junko Yamamoto, Katy Geare, Silvina Orsatti, Natalie Puhala, Olivia Grugan


Charge: To review policies for PSMLA publications and the sharing of information via the listserve and the website, and to suggest ideas for changes in the future.

  • Chair:  Megan Flinchbaugh
  • Consultant: Christina Huhn and Nate Campbell (PLF), Susanne Nimmrichter (website)
  • Committee for PLF: Sister Mary Helen Kashuba, Debra Faszer-McMahon, Cherie Garrett
  • Committee for website: Michael Bogdan, Nate Campbell, Katy Geare


Charge: To plan the PSMLA Conference in a given year - 2023.

In addition to the various committees, EXCO members also do the following: